Romans 7

Romans

1 Know ye not , brethren, (for I speak to them that know the law,) how that the law hath dominion over a man as long as he liveth ? 2 For the woman which hath an husband is bound by the law to her husband so long as he liveth ; but if the husband be dead , she is loosed from the law of her husband. 3 So then if, while her husband liveth , she be married to another man, she shall be called an adulteress: but if her husband be dead , she is free from that law; so that she is no adulteress, though she be married to another man. 4 Wherefore, my brethren, ye also are become dead to the law by the body of Christ; that ye should be married to another, even to him who is raised from the dead, that we should bring forth fruit unto God. 5 For when we were in the flesh, the motions of sins, which were by the law, did work in our members to bring forth fruit unto death. 6 But now we are delivered from the law, that being dead wherein we were held ; that we should serve in newness of spirit, and not in the oldness of the letter. 7 What shall we say then? Is the law sin? God forbid . Nay, I had not known sin, but by the law: for I had not known lust, except the law had said , Thou shalt not covet . 8 But sin, taking occasion by the commandment, wrought in me all manner of concupiscence. For without the law sin was dead. 9 For I was alive without the law once: but when the commandment came , sin revived , and I died . 10 And the commandment, which was ordained to life, I found to be unto death. 11 For sin, taking occasion by the commandment, deceived me, and by it slew me. 12 Wherefore the law is holy, and the commandment holy, and just, and good. 13 Was then that which is good made death unto me? God forbid . But sin, that it might appear sin, working death in me by that which is good; that sin by the commandment might become exceeding sinful. 14 For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin. 15 For that which I do I allow not: for what I would , that do I not; but what I hate , that do I . 16 If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good. 17 Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. 18 For I know that in me (that is , in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. 19 For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do . 20 Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. 21 I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me. 22 For I delight in the law of God after the inward man: 23 But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. 24 O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? 25 I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.

One thought on “Romans 7

  1. 1 Know ye not , brethren, (for I speak to them that know the law,) how that the law hath dominion over a man as long as he liveth ?
    ~ Paul continues his message to the believers in Rome. Paul is speaking to believer when you read the word “brethren” you are reading that he is speaking to his brothers in Christ. They are the ones that would know the law. They know that the law has dominion over man. What does that mean. The law is there to act as a school teacher. It instruct us in the fact that something is right, or something is wrong. It gives us a laundry list of things we should and should not do. When you are under the law it is not for just a season (or a short time), he is under that law till the day he dies.

    2 For the woman which hath an husband is bound by the law to her husband so long as he liveth ; but if the husband be dead , she is loosed from the law of her husband.
    ~Paul gives us an example of this by saying; that a wife is bound to her husband is bound by the law as long as he lives. The only way to be loosened from this bond is by the death of the husband. or you could say the death of the wife would give her freedom from her husband too…..

    3 So then if, while her husband liveth , she be married to another man, she shall be called an adulteress: but if her husband be dead , she is free from that law; so that she is no adulteress, though she be married to another man. 4 Wherefore, my brethren, ye also are become dead to the law by the body of Christ; that ye should be married to another, even to him who is raised from the dead, that we should bring forth fruit unto God.
    ~Paul explains himself in verse 4 when he says you have become dead to the law when you accept Christ as your personal savior. You should not marry yourself to another because Christ is your salvation. The fruits of other religions are dead, but the fruit you receive from Christ is Life Eternal!!! Not even the law itself can save a man from his sin. It teaches you of your sin but does not save you from your sin. You and I are unable to live a life that is perfect. We are unable to walk this life without sin. We will always do something wrong. Its in our nature.

    5 For when we were in the flesh, the motions of sins, which were by the law, did work in our members to bring forth fruit unto death.
    ~When we were in the flesh (before we got saved) we lived our lives in the flesh. Do you remember what it was like before you were saved? Your fruit to God was not good. It was of no value. Your fruit was a waste. Anything we do in the flesh is a waste. It is of no value to God. The fruit is bad. It is like rotten apples that smell bad. They are only good for the trash. The trash would be likened to death or to hell. That is what we deserve in our own flesh without the blood of Jesus applied to our soul.

    6 But now we are delivered from the law, that being dead wherein we were held ; that we should serve in newness of spirit, and not in the oldness of the letter.
    ~I mentioned before that the law only showed us where we were right or where we were wrong. It shows us that when we are wrong it is sin. When we have sin in our lives it brings death. It brings eternal separation from God. You see God is holy. He is right and just. God is unable to sin or allow sin with him. The Bible teaches that there is a penalty for our sin and that penalty is death. When we sin the only thing we deserve according the the Bible is death! We do not deserve anything else but death when we choose to sin. Sin is unable to be covered by anything but the blood of Christ and the gift he gave us at the cross. Not something we do, not something we give, not some kind act, not some great financial gift, not my attendance on a church roll, not my baptism, not anything but the blood of Christ. When we have accepted Christ as our savior we are no longer dead in our trespasses and sins. We are instead alive in Christ. He goes on to say we should live in the new life that Christ gives us and the new spirit we receive when we receive Christ as our personal savior. We should not turn back to serving sin, we should not turn back to choosing the things in this world that is wrong but live for the risen savior and the things of HIS world!

    7 What shall we say then? Is the law sin? God forbid . Nay, I had not known sin, but by the law: for I had not known lust, except the law had said , Thou shalt not covet .
    ~ Some might say well look to the law it would be as if we are looking to sin, but no that is not what God is trying to teach us here. God is trying to teach us that the law is only used as a school teacher. Paul says he would not have know what sin was but by the law. If he did not know the law he would not have known it was wrong to lust after things.

    8 But sin, taking occasion by the commandment, wrought in me all manner of concupiscence. For without the law sin was dead.
    ~ To understand this verse you will need to know what the word concupiscence (pronounced: con·cu·pis·cence känˈkyo͞opisəns,kən-) is a noun that means a strong sexual desire; or lust. So what Paul is saying is that sin brought all sorts of lush or desire within him. The law could not save Paul but it was when he met Christ on the Damascus road that his sins were forgiven.

    9 For I was alive without the law once: but when the commandment came , sin revived , and I died .
    ~When we sin we are dead to God. For the wages (or payment) of sin is death. We die to God when we sin.

    10 And the commandment, which was ordained to life, I found to be unto death.
    ~When we look at the the law, we need to realize that there is NO life in it but to trust in the law only brings DEATH!

    11 For sin, taking occasion by the commandment, deceived me, and by it slew me.
    ~When we are deceived by sin (any sin) the verse says for the wages of sin (not certain sins, not bad sins, not murder, rape or stealing but sin) is death. Sin is the cause of death to the soul.

    12 Wherefore the law is holy, and the commandment holy, and just, and good. 13 Was then that which is good made death unto me? God forbid . But sin, that it might appear sin, working death in me by that which is good; that sin by the commandment might become exceeding sinful.
    ~ The law does not make you good, it does not make you holy, it only instructs you that the things you do brings your soul death. The law only acts as a teacher to you that the things we do are wrong.

    14 For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin.
    ~The law though it is on paper and physical its also a spiritual thing. It is an instructor to our spirit or our soul. When you look in the mirror you do not see who you really are. Its the fleshly shell that houses the person that is within. Its simply a shell.

    15 For that which I do I allow not: for what I would , that do I not; but what I hate , that do I .
    ~Our flesh does not choose the things that are right. Its not spiritual. Our flesh is nothing but the dust of the ground. Its dirty and it chooses the dirty things of this life. God is pure, clean perfect. He chooses you; the real you not the dirt that is put together to make your fleshly body but the soul that is housed within; that is what God chooses.

    16 If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good. 17 Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.
    ~When we choose to do that which is wrong we allow the flesh or the sin to rule us. The sin nature that is with us is in constant battle against the nature of God that is given us the day we accept Christ as our personal savior.

    18 For I know that in me (that is , in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not.
    ~Paul admits something that is very difficult for any of us to admit. That in him, there is nothing good. Think about it what thought if you are not careful is good? What deed if you do not try is for the right reason? There is NONE. All that we do is for our personal gain. There is nothing good in this ol’ flesh. The only thing good comes from Christ that dwells with in us.

    19 For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do .
    ~There is no good that Paul does he says, its not good but its evil that we do on our own accord.

    20 Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.
    ~When we choose those things that are wrong its no longer us that is doing it, but our sin nature. We become a slave to that nature. We sin because we give into that sin nature.

    21 I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.
    ~Even when we did what most would call good; prior to God, the reality is there was still bad in me. My doing good never outweighs the bad in me.

    22 For I delight in the law of God after the inward man: 23 But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.
    ~He would delight in the law, in the good things that he would do, yet he would often allow his members or himself to sin.

    24 O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?
    ~Paul calls himself what he is a “wretched man”. He asks who will deliver him from this death.

    25 I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.
    ~He closes out the chapter with the one and only thing that saves him from the sin that is within, that sin is only saved by the Lord Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

